Passie Pensioneert Nooit voor Monica Bonomi

This is Monica Bonomi. I’m an Italian actress, I’m a teacher of theater, I have written playscripts and a novel. 

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

The wonder of being always new, if you will, through the creation of worlds and planets which invites audiences to enter. The most beautiful thing happens when the audience comes in and lives in that world for the time of the show and sometimes even later.

                                                                                                                                                                 What is my idea of perfect happiness?

To be “happy as the grass is green, to be excited about nothing in particular and at the same time to feel everything like a gift. It is difficult, but for a few seconds a year, this happens to me.

What is my greatest fear?

The death of the people that I love. But I don’t have fear about my death.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

to be lost in my thoughts darker deep and don’t have a way to get out me there. Sometimes it happens to me, but in the long time of my life I have learned to fight the dark

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

the people who say what they think, they talk about things they know, the humble people, humorous people who love to compare their opinions with others. But mostly people who do not forget where they come from. I admire those who reach fame don’t forget those who helped them, when they were nobody. I admire also film italian directors like Paolo sorrentino, Pupi Avati, actors like Ralph Fiennes, Woody Allen and many others.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Everyday for me is my extravagance, to look, to observe the people, to ferret out what others do not see. My memory about little things, I suppose it is my very extravagance to like to remember the birthday of all my friends, without the help of facebook.

On what occasion would I lie?

when I’m having to say a useless truth, I suppose. A truth which hurts. So I try to say a lie, or rather I try to keep quiet.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Often the risk is to close the empathy with people in the box acting . For me it is important teaching theater and to taste every day my life with the life of students, their dreams become mine, their difficulties become mine. through my students I remember me as I was at the beginning and I still find new that I might consider learned, old. Instead, each day I discover that this work is always new. and I’m still a novice professional.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

when I work with people who are listening, who are in tune, that allow me to get in touch with them. have often had this experience. I am a lucky person. But recently I did a show that I wrote and performed with a musician. For me to write this show and put it on stage here in Milan in January 2017 in the theater: Teatro della Contraddizione di Milano, has given me a immense joy. A story about World War II, a story about a mule who kicked adolf Eichmann, a story about shoah and Italian soldiers. The title: Il mulo che riconobbe una Ss.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

My brain! I must work with my brain to learn every day. But I lost often , when I did not look well who I had before.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I hope it is still to come. Seriously, the greatest success is always tied to how you cast the ball to the public. if the public starts to play with you then the connection is there and you’re happy as an actor, as an artist, that’s success. But in my heart especially two shows. When I played Ariel in the tempest of w. shakespeare, director Gianlorenzo Brambilla and The monkey’s way ( La via di una scimmia . Franz Kafka) .

Where would I most like to live?

In New York; In Trieste; in Paris; in a little village in Eire;
but sooner or later I would have nostalgia for milan, for my city.

What is my most treasured possession?

My memories, my friends, my family.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Can you question my friends? I don’t know…maybe the melancholy and irony

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Piazza Libia, is a square that I love, there are the trees, in summer it is very beautiful.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Pizza a pezzi in Milan, for me is like my home and my favorite place.

What books influenced my life and how?

There are many books, is very difficult for me to describe one book, only one book. It’ depends of the age of life. Now, in this period of my life I suppose the book most important for me is : “La vita davanti a Romain Gary. I think it’s the book that I gave more to my friends. A friendship story between a Muslim boy and a Jewish old woman. A story of brotherhood and grace that has touched my heart. An ode to cinema and life.

Who are my favorite writers?

Samuel Beckett, Guido Gozzano, Jane Austin, Paul Auster, John Fante, Italo Svevo, Anton Cechov.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Waltz for Debby Bill Evans

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Walter White alias Heisenberg;

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Simon Wiesenthal; Gino Strada and all the people who work in non-profit organizations

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Hanna and her sisters of Woody Allen; Shining of Stanley Kubrick;  It’s a Wonderful Life –  Frank Capra; Otto e mezzo Federico Fellini;

What role plays art in my life and work?

The role of starring, every day.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

To work with Woody Allen, to meet him . My great dream

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

My monologue about second world war and another work about Italo Calvino.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

You can see me in Milan from March 14 to April 30 2017 in Milan Teatro Out Off with : Gli amori difficili. Di Italo calvino. Regia di Lorenzo Loris con Monica Bonomi; Gigio Alberti; Nicola Ciammarughi e Gemma Pedrini

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

I think passion returns , is possible if you want. With difficulty, even in matters where it seems gone, but if you have to give love for what you do, you can be very happy and give happiness to others. Love is exhausting, but is the only way to live with a sense without time and space in a reality that imposes time and space for all. When the passion retires, no more efforts and then love disappears and you die inside.

How can you contact me?

You can write me a mail through my site : http://www.monicabonomi.com

The link of my novel in version Ebook on Amazonhttps://www.amazon.it/Io-non-so-fare-niente-ebook/dp/B00EQZF4OW

Link about my work. This is a small showreel . In Youtube there are other videos about my work of actress, but I think this can show better my creative life in some minutes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7z9-tIHiOk&t=5s

Link about a showreel of my theater teaching

https://youtu.be/_Cx8loE1hwA

Leave a Reply

