Passie Pensioneert Nooit voor Dannye Williamsen

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

In my work today, it is being free to say what I think and feel through my writing.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

To have the financial freedom to travel and broaden my horizons and to write about my insights from anywhere.

What is my greatest fear?

Strangely enough, my greatest fear is letting my fears, no matter how small, stand in the way of my achieving my potential.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Not feeling good enough isn’t really a trait because it isn’t genetically determined, but rather a personality flaw. Nonetheless, it arose from my early life, and despite my best efforts, it continues to rear its ugly head often enough that I am always aware of its presence and its influence.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

I admire anyone who has bucked the system to express from their heart despite what the gatekeepers declare is the path you must follow. As a writer, one person I admire that might surprise some because he isn’t considered a writer of literary fiction is Dean Koontz. Despite the pressure in earlier years that was put on him to “follow the rules,” he walked away from those individuals, wrote from his heart, and aligned himself with those who valued his creativity, and the rest is history, as they say.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Extravagance is not my style, at least not for myself. In the past, I have been somewhat extravagant when it came to doing things for others in my life. When I was younger, in my twenties and thirties, my greatest extravagance was purchasing two of the Mark editions of the Lincoln Continental. I loved those cars. These days, “things” don’t really matter that much any more.

On what occasion would I lie?

I don’t think that I would lie as much as omit the truth in circumstances where knowing the entire truth might hurt someone, but even that would be rare. It would be a judgment call, always. The one thing that people who have sought my counsel have said to me all my life is “I know you’ll tell me the truth, even if I don’t want to hear it.” That they are willing to risk the consequences and still come to me for advice means a great deal.

What do I dislike the most about my work?

I would probably have to say, the isolation. As an introvert, I require a certain amount of it in my life; however, sharing the back and forth of working with a team is very fulfilling. I have missed that since stepping into the world of writing full time.

When and where was I the happiest in my work?

Whenever a person embarks on a new journey or a new leg of the journey, there is always a certain amount of giddiness. It arises from the unknown, and one’s imagination conjures up so many possibilities. Sometimes experiences along the way taint our expectations, making it more difficult to capture the exhilaration. Thus, our journey is cyclical. I am always happiest in my work whenever I have resurrected from a setback and am experiencing a renewed purpose.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I possess a strong sense of empathy, which often makes me uncomfortable at gatherings and tends to reinforce my introversion. I wouldn’t want to rid myself of being an empath. I would just like to better control how it influences my life experiences.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I have had awards and recognition in my work, before and after becoming a full-time writer. I don’t really place a lot of emphasis on these things. My greatest achievement for me personally is that I never quit. I am a survivor. No matter in what field I’ve worked, I have always strived for excellence, and for me, that is the journey.

Where would I most like to live?

My husband and I talk a great deal about the Pacific Northwest or Canada. I’m not sure what drives this fascination, perhaps a previous life? Regardless, the thought of living there is comforting.

What is my most treasured possession?

A letter from my mother after my father died. I returned home to help her with the paperwork that befalls a person after a spouse’s death. She was never demonstrative, but in this letter she wrote the words I had always longed to hear.

What is my most marked characteristic?

According to friends and acquaintances over the years, my passion is a defining characteristic. Once I lock onto something in my mind, my imagination shifts into full gear. I see the big picture and the possibilities. This has been extremely useful in helping others.

What is my most inspirational location in my city?

Chalk it up to being an introvert, but my most inspirational place is in my office, sitting at my keyboard. Once my fingers are on the keyboard, I slip into an altered state. Pen and paper can’t accomplish this. Scenery doesn’t accomplish it. My keyboard is the power button to my inspirations.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink in my city?

On The Border, a Mexican restaurant, is probably my favorite place. I’ve always like the Mexican cuisine, although the best I’ve ever had was prepared for us by a native Mexican family when I lived in Austin, Texas.

What books influenced my life and how?

The Dragon Doesn’t Live Here Anymore by Alan Cohen came into my life when I was first actively seeking a greater spiritual understanding of myself. It addressed many issues that mystified me at the time. It was not the decisive moment in my spiritual journey, but it lent a practicality to the deeper questions I was asking and encouraged me that I was on the right path for myself.

Who are my favorite writers?

Before the onset of independent publishing, I would have listed Dean Koontz, Stephen King, Rodney William Whitaker (Trevanian), Diana Gabaldon, Robert Ludlum, Maeve Benchey, M.M. Kaye, and others among fiction writers. Since then, I have read so many indie authors’ works that I’m not sure I could pick a favorite.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen to on my last day?

Steven Halpern’s Chakra Suite or Relaxation Suite

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Claire Randall in the Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon because she is a survivor, adapting to the changing world around her.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

I admire anyone, male or female, who doesn’t let the circumstances of life determine their path, who consumes life rather than letting it consume them. There are so many examples of this all around us if we just look so I’m unable to assign only a few individuals to this place of honor.

Which movie would I recommend to see at least once in a lifetime?

The Matrix is a favorite of mine because of the metaphysical message that underlies the story. In my book Metaphysical Minute – Philosophy on the Run, I discussed the symbolism in this movie that relates to one’s spiritual psychology. I would also recommend Forrest Gump and The Color Purple.

What role does art play in my life and work?

One of the definitions of art is the creation of thought-provoking works. In both my fiction and nonfiction, I strive to provoke self-examination through the introduction of new ideas. The tagline for my company is “Opening Minds and Imaginations.”

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My greatest fan has always been my husband John. In our company, Williamsen Publications, he is also my partner in crime.

With whom would I like to work in 2017?

I would love to locate a small group of women locally who are passionate about writing, but are primarily interested in sharing and supporting fellow writers and creating a writers’ sanctuary.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

Dean Koontz is a favorite of mine because of his interest in psychology, evident in his writing. In 1999, when I was just dipping my toe into the fiction world, he was very responsive and sent me an autographed copy of his book, Seize the Night. A small gesture perhaps, but it meant a great deal to me.

In 2017, what project am I looking forward to working on?

I have several ideas in mind and a couple of works in progress. I’ll just have to see where my inspiration leads me.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Information on my books, both nonfiction and fiction, is available at http://www.WilliamsenPublications.com. My author page on Amazon is https://www.amazon.com/Dannye Williamsen/e/B004KEAFE8.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Passion is not just a casual emotion responding to the world. It is the fire within you that waxes and wanes in response to the creative urges you experience. Passion never retires in my opinion because we are creative beings. It is the essence of who we are. Regardless of those times in life when passion may wane, our creative spirit is always seeking an outlet; so if we allow it, our passion will always reemerge.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Sandy Weaver, Katia Caetano Lord, Gloria Jones

How can you contact me? dannyew@williamsenpublications.com

Leave a Reply

