Passie Pensioneert Nooit voor Alessia Gianaroli

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love to meet and talk to people involved in the technology innovation field from all around the world and find the way to connect them.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I do not know if the perfect happiness exists. However, when I watching a TV series on the couch with my life partner drinking a beer I feel a deep sense of calm and fulfillment. We love Marvel’s series and movies, crime TV series such as True Detective and Victorian horror stories such as Penny Dreadful.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to choke. This fear has nothing to do with something rational and it does not prevent me to do something or be obsessed about that. However, I think that it is rather linked to the fear of loosing spaces and freedom.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? When I do not succeed in managing my anxiety.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I most admire all entrepreneurs that failed and tried again. I think that the risk to start a business has nothing to do with courage, but it’s a matter of being aware you are able to deal with consequences.

What is my greatest extravagance? I have all my back tattooed. I started 10 years ago and periodically I add a particular or something to complete the tattoo. The tattoo for me has nothing to do with aesthetic or catching attention, it is an expression of my emotions.

On what occasion would I lie? I do not like lies, but, hey, we live in a though world. So I would lie if I had to protect my family, my friends or my company.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Numbers! Unfortunately, they are everywhere and I had to find a way to deal with them.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I can create valuable content. The “when” does not really matter to me because during my professional experience I learned to work almost in every place: at home, in a coworking space, in a office, in a train or plane. I need only my computer and an internet connection.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to listen more carefully to my personal needs and take care of myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement in work is to be a cofounder of a company whose mission fits with my passions and my professional objectives. I started to work on digital innovation 15 years ago, then I faced a lot of difficulties, I fought, I thought I had to let it go, but eventually I am still standing and now working to build an international community around a big event.

Where would I most like to live? I would like to live by the sea, in a place where the weather is mild. I do not like cold and coats very much.

What is my most treasured possession? My books.

What is my most marked characteristic? I have a thoughtful character. Therefore, I take my time before answering a question or speaking.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I live in Rome, Italy, one of the most beautiful and ancient city in the world, full of history and traditions. The most inspirational location to me is the Parco degli Acquedotti, which is a public park and it is named after the aquaducts that go through it.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? My favourite places are all those ancient Roman restaurants, which we call “Hosteria”, where you can eat the Roman traditional food.

What books influenced my life and how? I always loved English and French literature from Shakespeare to Victor Hugo. Through literature you can find all the passions, emotions and limit of the human beings. This journey helped me in finding answers and in understanding the world in which we live.

Who are my favorite writers? In addition to the most classic writers, I love Haruki Murakami, Neil Gaiman, William Gibson and Philip Roth.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Rock and Punk! My heart beats at the sound of the electric guitar.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? My hero in fiction is James Bond. My father is a fan of his adventures and I watched all the films with him when I was a child. We did not spend so many time together and I was so happy to share a passion with him. When I grew up kept the passion for this character.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My heroes and heroines in real life are all those people able to give a smile and a kindness everyday despite their personal tragedies.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? I would recommend Life of Pi, which is based on Yann Martel’s novel and it was directed by Ang Lee. This film is a wonderful metaphor of facing difficulties and how to reach self awareness. Moreover, it helps very much in understanding what storytelling means.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art in its every form was all around me since I was born. Rome and Italy are a crossroads of many historical and artistic expressions and I travelled in many countries, but I have never stopped to feel the “wonder”.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My life partner is the one I share everything. We live together, we work together and I do not think that this could be possible if we do not support each other everyday.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would like to work with collaborative people. I do not believe in roles and hierarchy, I think that team working and flexibility is the best way to work.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? I would love to meet people that like changes and feels that digital innovation is urging us to redefine ourselves and, consequently, the world of today and the world of tomorrow.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? 2017 and the next 3 years as well will be dedicated to BLAST, the first international event in Rome about digital innovation, startups and entrepreneurship. This event is the first gathering in Italy of founders, top executives, investors and tech influencers coming from all over the world.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

You can meet me at BLAST from the 10th to the 12th of May in Rome, Italy, and you can follow me on the event’s blog: http://blastproject.com

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? You keep believing in yourself and in what you are doing with strong commitment. And even if something goes wrong, you are aware that you can reinvent yourself by listening to your heart and being open minded.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? There are not so many Italian women founders, but they fortunately exist. I think that giving voice to these women will help and encourage more women in taking the difficult, but beautiful path towards entrepreneurships in digital innovation.

How can you contact me? You can contact me via email: alessia@blastproject.com

Or social media channels: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alessia.gianaroli

Twitter: @Alex_Gia LinkedIn: https://it.linkedin.com/in/alessia-gianaroli-48266418

Leave a Reply

